PSYCHOLOGY TODAY


photo caption: Still Life, Santa Olaya, PR


This morning, drinking coffee and trolling FB, I found a friend-request from a perky young blonde. Checked her connections and saw a few young artist friend here on the island, so I said "O.K.."

A minute later "she" messaged me and asked what music I liked, which put me on guard. Who asks what music you like, and why should she care, I thought. Then she *says*, "gotta run, send me your cell number and I'll TXT you."

Uh-huh, I thought -- and then I pulled the plug from her, and sent messages to the young guys who were the "friends in common." See photo below (link at end).


Psychological profile:


Randy old guy: 1) sees photo of attractive young woman who wants to connect; 2) notes other artist friends; 3) says, why not? 4) gets immediate reply; 5) almost falls for it, except for the *music* bit;  6) if *she* hadn't asked that question, I might have sent *her* my cell #.


Cell TXT *conversation*


HER: Hey! Seventyfive. Thx for connect.


ME: No prob. Jennifer!


HER: So, what's up?


ME: Nothin' just chillin' on the veranda. Coffee and sunshine.


HER: sounds so COOL!


ME: Yep.


HER: Say, Seventyfive, can I aks you summpin?


ME: O.K. btw> call me Jan.


HER: ok, Listen, I've got a problem.


ME: What's that?


HER: Uh, I'm kinda stuck at the moment, and I need some help.


ME: (slightly skeptical) What's that?


HER: Well, I'm actually traveling right now.


ME: Where are you???


HER: St. Kitts.


ME: How's the weather?


HER: Same as where you are, but I need a favor from you because I was robbed on my way back to my hotel suite last night.


ME: Holy shit!


HER: The robbers carted away with my bag containing my wallet, phone, flight ticket and other valuables...


ME: OMG!


HER: I will like you to lend me the sum of $3,500 US Dollars or any amount you can afford as half bread is better than none so that i can sort out my hotel bills and get myself back...


ME: Uh sure, I mean, I'll try to help you.


HER: I promise to pay you back with an extra $100 US Dollars as soon as i return home in a few days time so kindly let me know if you can be of help.


ME: (hooked) O.K. What do I do???


HER: I was told the fastest and safest way to receive money in seconds is through western union {since that is what works here}.So if you can be of help,you can send the money using these details:


Reciever Name: JENNIFER KASSA

Address : 13 Friendship St, Tivoli, NY 12583


ME: Tivoli, NY ?? !! Hey, that's near Albany, NY, where I used to live. 


HER: It's my mother's house. That's the safest address for me to receive mail and deliveries.


ME: O.K. What next?


HER: You can get a list of western union money transfer agents close to you, go to the link below and enter your full address:

http://www.westernunion.com/info/agentLocatorLookup


ME: Uh, O.K.


HER: Please,as soon as you send the money, i will like you to send an email with the transaction code i will need to pick up the money. I will be back here in couples of hours to get the transfer details, please do it without delay so I can get home to San Juan.


ME: Sure! no problem.


HER: After I receive the money, i will email you on the arrangements to get back home.


ME: O.K. Take care...


HER: Thanks Seventyfive.


ME: Please, call me Jan.


HER: Thanks once again and i will really appreciate if you can be of help.


ME: My pleasure...


link to original facebook *conversation* here


LINKS TO OLDER BLOG POSTS



Jan Galligan 

75Grand/Sur 
Santa Olaya, PR

http://JANGuarte.posthaven.com [art blog]

http://cinefestsanjuan.posthaven.com [cine blog] 

http://about.me/JanGalligan [about me]