UPSTATE UPDATE

photo caption: Cafetin La Borinquena, Albany, NY -- May 2010

To: Robert Durlak 
Cc: Jan 
Subject: UPDATE
Date: Mar 1, 2013 2:50 PM
Bob:

138 reviews on Yelp. You've been busy...

Here's my favorite. I have yet to read all of your reviews, although I will. I took Fred Escher to borinquena not long before I left Albany in 2010. 

Jan

YELP REVIEW:

Okay, La Borinquena has only been around for a few months but it's already the go-to place for take-out Puerto Rican cuisine, considering it's the only Puerto Rican go-to place in the area. Everything is made from scratch, no freezer other than the ones holding the home-made limber ices, which are incredible after you've let them melt down a little bit: tamarindo, mango, pina, crema and more.

More home-made killer goodness: knockout pork, beef or shrimp empanadas, small and similar to the Argentine versions. Great Alcapurrias, basically a spicy beef fritter.

The storefront is still a no-frills work in progress, but is definitely worth investigating and enjoying. The owner is gregarious, upbeat and hopeful ...


Review fromThinkAnd D.

Photo of ThinkAnd D
  • 36
    friends
  • 138
    reviews
  • ThinkAnd D. asks:
  • If I gave Yelp one star, would people stop coming here?
  • Albany, NY

30 star rating
 9/13

 

 

 

 LINKS TO OLDER BLOG POSTS

 

 

 

 

Jan Galligan 
75Grand/Sur 
Santa Olaya, PR

http://JANGuarte.posterous.com [art blog]
http://cinefestsanjuan.posterous.com [cine blog] 
http://about.me/JanGalligan [about me]