regarding Michael Farrell's photo quotes page

Michael Farrell's photo quotes page:

 http://michaelpfarrell.com/quotes.html

  
Original Message:
-----------------
From: Chuck Patch
Re: Robert Frank photo...

 Robert:

 Actually I think that's a Winogrand photo, (if it's the one taken from above
and the side looking down while the car is driving), but there's a real
similar Frank taken from behind a convertible with a couple kind of glaring
at him.

I kept hoping I would meet Robert Frank but the place is such
that I've never even conversed with the curator. But I did get to spend an
afteroon looking though work prints from the Americans, which was fun.
Frank was around all day a couple of months ago, but I never crossed paths.

I went to this lecture the other day...

Audio processing failed. — Download 040709lect01.mp3

 and what was most interesting is how well Frank understood that he
needed to work the levers to get his work done (He used to help Walker Evans
take photographs and Evans both rewrote Frank's Gugenheim application and sat on
the Board of Trustees which evaluated it.)

 ==============
On Sun, May 31, 2009 at 11:57 AM, Sietsema wrote:

Re: Michael Farrell's photography quotes page...

> Went to an art opening at Apexart in Tribeca a couple of months ago. I
> had a friend who had a few pieces in the show, and I hung out with him for a
> few minutes and chatted, then greeted a couple of other friends and left.

> The next day I got an email -- "you know that guy that was standing
> behind you? That was Robert Frank."
>
> I almost shit. It's been a dream to meet him ever since I saw the Americans
> for the first time. I couldn't get over that guy in the convertible with the
> band-aid on his nose...


photographs from Gary Winogrand and Robert Frank